Fly Tying
SpokaneDude

Questions regarding the Pettijean bobbin

Hello..,. I am new to fly tying, accumulating equipment as I have funds; I just purchased a Marc Petitjean bobbin, and am having a hell-of-a-time with it. I have no problem loading the thread, but when I'm doing a wrap of any kind, I hear this clicking and the thread pops out of the "channel".

Is there a specific way to hold this bobbin? (channel up or channel down, where do I put my index finger, on the 'triangle'?). Any suggestions would be appreciated.. :-}

SpokaneDude

Return it. 60 bucks for a thread holder is a huge waste of limited resources. Return it and use the money to buy five normal standard regular Joe bobbins. Your problem will be solved and you will have five spools of thread on deck. No need to overly complicate or fancy up something that does nothing but hold thread. Just my humble opinion.

My first reaction when I saw the title of this thread was "DON'T!". Then I saw that you already have. I haven't used one of his bobbins... yet. I have heard about them from many sources. Some people get on with it many don't. It is a tool that is designed to do more than just hold the thread. If you are using the techniques this bobbin is designed for, you are not a beginner.

There are no techniques that this bobbin incorporates that can not be done without it. Are they easier or harder to do with this bobbin? I don't know yet. When I see Marc next I'll extract one from him and find out. What it does strike me as is the fly tiers equivalent of an adjustable spanner (sorry "wrench" to those who use less specific English) No engineer would use one to replace a full set of wrenches spanners (Sorry I can't be that unspecific, wrenches are used on pipework, nuts bolts and set screws are tightened with spanners), They are fine in an emergency, but don't replace the correct tool. (Just as an aside the adjustable spanner was invented by Edwin Beard Budding, who was also the inventor of the lawn mower).