Fly Tying
BostonTroutGuy

Feedback on this Clouser Minnow?

Dear List--

I am a rookie fly tyer--midway through my eighth month behind the vice. Attached is a Clouser Minnow. I'd really appreciate any and all assessments, critiques, advice. Many thanks in advance!

post-58776-0-37968300-1471916326_thumb.jpeg

Good start. The real opinions come from the fish.

I, and this is just a personal opinion, like them a little fuller and not so flared.

I would clean the hook eye a bit, but that is about it

Hey Boston. That looks almost exactly like pictures I've seen of the originals. Nice, sparse materials will give it a translucent profile in the water. Just like it's supposed to look!

Yeah I agree with Mike ......Just neaten up the thread wraps around the head and you're done !!

I agree, learn to tie a neater head is all. If you trim your materials on a taper and tie down you should end up with no fibers sticking out over the eye to trim up. And that is if it matters to you LOL.

Clean up the eye and you're good to go.

I've been tying for 10-ish years I think. In fact, I took an extended hiatus and only recently got back into tying. My first clouser that I tied earlier this week had the nose flared out even worse than yours!

I've since gotten the feel for it again and they are starting to look better. I don't get to fish very often so tying is the next best thing! ;)

These folks have it covered. I say this most every time someone makes such a post about the Clouser Minnow. The next best thing to having Bob Clouser show you, & if you want to learn to tie it "correctly", is get a copy of Bob Clouser's book, "Clousers Flies" and tie them as Bob ties them. It's a worthwhile book to have too since it covers many of his other patterns. smile.png