Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
retrocarp

Bibbed flies anyone?

I have been toying with this idea for a few years now and wondered how many others have done the same.

post-37956-0-39498700-1418516816_thumb.jpg

Sixteen-wiggler.jpg

Been working on it for 30 years. I think you need buoyancy at the top rear and weight at the front bottom to keep them from spinning. That's how Rapalas are made. More or less.

Halfords Ghost

Just FYI ... it's not "bibbed" ... it's "lipped". Lures with lips have been around for as long as lures have been around. They are used for two different purposes ... to make a floating lure dive, or to impart "wobble" ... usually both.

Salmobytes has the basics correct ... the balance of weight cannot be centered on the hook eye. "Rapala" achieves some of this with the weight of the hooks. That little fry of yours looks good, Retro ... and if it dives or wobbles without spinning, it'll fish great.

FYI in Oz we say Bibbed lures LMAO

and yes if retrieved slow it does dive and wobble ( tank tested)

Yes sure (Lures with lips have been around for as long as lures have been around). But what about flies with lips? Chicken lips? How does that work anyway?

Buoyancy at the top rear and weight near the front bottom make it wobble. The lure (oops, fly) lifts up and to the left or right as the water pushes on it. Without the opposing carrot stick forces of buoyancy pitted against weight the fly would turn upside down and plane right up to the surface.

With those two counteracting forces, if balanced against each other properly, the lure never quite flips upside down. Instead it oscillates from side to side, digging ever deeper into the water as you pull. Little ones are tricky to balance properly. Big ones are easier to make. I usually knot a small barrel swivel into the leader 18" inches or so up the leader from the flure.