Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
flypops

Can't sit at the vise for more the 30-40 minutes anymore!

Hello all,

I've been tying for about 20 years off and on. I don't tie that often much anymore mainly because I can't sit at the vise for more than 30 or 40 minutes before my upper back starts to cramp up so bad I can't stand it. I don't know if it's the height of the table, I tie on a bar/counter but the stool height is fine for anything else I do there, just not tying. I've tried putting a pillow on the stool but that didn't help. Yesterday I took 3 Advil and had a couple of Vodka/Gingers and still no relief.

Anybody else had this problem and found a remedy?

My first thought on something to check would be your posture.

Are you sitting completely erect? Or are you hunched over?

You don't mention problems with your back when standing.

I've lower back issues myself. Sitting is harder on me than either

standing up or lying down. When my back was bothering me

recently and I had an event to prepare for I had to relocate my

tying to the kitchen counter with my vise elevated to a comfortable

height for me to tie standing.

I had lower back problems for most of my life until I finally got chiropractic attention. Most of all, I learned how to do and not do things like sitting, standing, lifting, etc. Other patients with upper back problems often had such exotic sources as too high a pillow, and so forth. Many chairs are not ergonomically designed (including my dentist's chairs). I'd suggest getting some attention. The things we enjoy (like tying flies, creating art) are too important to let problems take them away.

Also, I'd point out that pain killers (including alcoholic ones) don't fix the problem. They just cover them up, possibly allowing them to become worse.