Fly Tying
Timmy Ties Flys

nymph dry emerger?

I am confused right now with emerger flys nymphs spinners dry flys and spent flys egg laying flys i dont know when or why to use them. I know eggs are laid and turn into nymphs and nymphs emerge into dry flys and then spinners then spent flys but why would you fish a dry fly vs an emerger because its not like every nymph emerges into fly at the exact same time... There will still be nymphs and emerges at the same time as flys that hatched earlier are spent and dying how long do these flys live. When do you fish each type and what triggers fly hatches how do you choose what type of fly to use during its hatch? I am not a newbie just need this cleared up? And like all winter midges are hatching??? I just don't get it.

be sure to follow my fly tying instagram @timtiesflys_pa

First break it down into the types of flies. Mayflies, Caddis, Stoneflies, Midges Dragon, and Damsel Flies all start life in a sub surface form, which we call nymphs. A more accurate designation for the midges and caddis flies would be larvae. Both the caddis and midges will change into a different subsurface form the pupua. This is the form that heads to the surface and "hatches." So fishing a caddis or midge pupal pattern would be fishing the emerging stage.