Fly Tying
Poopdeck

Parachute flies

I rarely, like almost never, tie dry flies since trout are not high on my list of targeted species. However, I am preparing for retirement and suspect I will be doing a lot more trout fishing in the near future.

This is my first attempt at a parachute fly and I'm looking for a heavy dose of constructive criticism to shorten my learning curve. I won't take any comment as a negative, I won't rationalize any flaws so give it to me good. I'm already thinking the thorax needs a little more build up but I don't know. Let it rip, I'll tie a second based on your pointers.

post-48414-0-90371900-1486915060_thumb.jpeg

It looks like you used two hackles like a parachute Adams? I'd start with a single hackle until you get the hang of it. When wrapping two parachute hackles, i prefer to wrap them together, rather than one at a time.

General tips:

Form a good smooth base of thread on the post.

When tying in the hackle, leave enough bare stem to reach the top of the post.

Tie the bare stem to the post, tying it down all the way to the top of the thread base.

Or don't tie it to the post and wrap the bare stem in one turn to the top of the post then wrap down the post.

Wrap the hackle down the post, keeping each turn directly below the previous one until you get to the bottom.

If you wrap the hackle counter-clockwise (looking down from the top), the fibers will angle away from you at the head and you will trap fewer fibers.

I prefer to tie the hackle off to the bottom of the post, in the same direction as the hackle. Then make a single wrap to just behind the eye and finish the head.

I think it is an excellent first parachute !

1 Just to get picky since you asked, To me the hackle stacks up too high , keep your wraps tight together for a lower profile.

2 I could do with a few less tailing fibers ( but that is subjective and open to personal taste).