Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
pondfisher

Beginner - purchased Grizzly Saddle Hackle- wrong kind?

Hello,

This is my first post.

I am new to fly tying and was attempting to tie an Adams Dry so I made a purchase thinking i had all i needed to tie this pattern:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iOYxWjQfYpg&list=PLz42K_a_F18T14_FXzAjUZVViQVtz2s52&index=52

I purchased a large amount of METZ #1 saddle grizzly hackle thinking i could use it for both the wings and hackle wrapped body.

The grizzly hackle works fine for the wings but not so much for wrapping the hook. Its way to webby and does not flair out. The hackle clumps as i wrap it. Is this the wrong kind of hackle for wrapping around dry flies? Besides wings..what other use is there for this webby feather?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

post-59583-0-32859000-1470429329_thumb.jpg

Well... Not sure about Adams, others will know.

But those are good feathers for large streamers, bass, saltwater, etc.

You made an honest mistake: wrong hackle.

I have some older Metz #1 & #2 grade rooster saddles are terrific for larger wets and streamers. I have no experience with their recent products. Did you buy an actual saddle on the skin? Or were the feathers loose or strung?

Edit: You state these are hen saddle. That makes sense. Rooster has much better barring and a balance of web (vs the full web of hen).

For dry flies, you want dry fly hackle, preferably "genetic" hackle. Whiting Hackle offers "100" packs of pre-sized rooster saddle hackle for tying approx 100 flies. At $20, it's not the cheapest route but is an option for those who don't need a large supply of hackle in a wide size range. There is virtually zero waste with these feathers. Other Whiting options include Pro Grade, High & Dry, or even Bronze Grade at slightly higher cost.