Fly Tying
TIER

Pike n' Burbot

I am very new at pike fishing. I want to know all about it. I have heard that mouse patterns work well. My dad tells me I should use a dare devil, I have a big 5 inch jig, and a 4 inch hoochie. I am going to sportsman's warehouse, And I have about 50$ to spend there. What should I get? And I have no clue about Burbot.

A daredevil spoon is definitely NOT a fly. Are you asking whether you should buy flies for pike ... or lures for pike?

These are my guesses ...

Feather streamers in Fire Tiger colors are what I see people tying for pike. Bright colors that mimic local prey (i.e. perch, bluegill, shad, shiners, trout, etc.) fished near the surface.

Burbot looks like a cross between a catfish and an eel. Ugly fish. They look like bottom feeders. But, they also look like they take prey. Predatory like large catfish Pike flies allowed to drop to the bottom should work.

Mike, I am thinking of lures. I am already done shopping. Plz help with the retrieves and stuff like that.

I can't help much there.

All I know about pike is that they're built to chase.

Burbot, I know nothing about.

go fishing with your dad . he'll show you what to do

He doesn't fly fish.

He doesn't fly fish.

Based on your earlier posts it looks like you're planning on using standard tackle.