Fly Tying
Bruce Derington

Cohen's Bird Variation

A few days ago there was a deer hair bird flytier posted. I thought he got it from our fly pattern data base and it looked like something I tied, It was not, so moving forward, here are some that I did tie, and they fish fine. I use them in some small lakes , here in Michigan, primarily for Bass, and use either a 7 or 8 weight for most. Pat Cohen was very active on this forum, and I have met him and simply love his work. Its hard to believe that Pat is a relative newbie, maybe 10 years or so, a pure natural.Man can that guy tie. I have tied many of his patterns, Punk Rocker , SF Mouse, and Big Ben, I will always give him credit, and look forward to seeing what else he comes up with. For your amusement

2j3nqtt.jpg

Nice ties Bruce!

There is another tirer on here and I wont call him out but we spoke on the phone hes only been tying for about seven years.

Ive been tying for 50+ years and have been spinning deer hair for 25+ years and I cant do what he does or Pat and a few others.

Pisses me off!

I know if I could sit down with anyone of these guys for just an hour I could figure out what theyre doing that I cant seem to figure out.

Bruce you've still got it man!

Excellent "hair bug" Bruce. The heads are articulated?

and this one

http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php?showtopic=76026 & http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php?showtopic=81803&page=2&do=findComment&comment=635353

flyguy638 and TheCream also did pretty good work on that pattern

http://www.flytyingforum.com/pattern13815.html

http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php?showtopic=78234

For my style I'd prefer this duck posted by Pelhament; http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php?showtopic=43051&do=findComment&comment=357193

and tied by wiggleminnow http://www.flytyingforum.com/pattern4552.htmll

That bird post the other day sent me on a site search.

This is the prototype?

http://www.flytyingforum.com/index.php?showtopic=53213

Nice ties Bruce!