Fly Tying
Ron1697

Favorite Brookie Patterns

Just wondering what everyone's favorite brook trout pattern/rig is.

The river I fish is the north branch of the Embarrass river in Wisconsin (Flow is about 200 CFS, and about 3 feet deep on average)

Only been out once so far but my trip got cut off in the first 20 min due to a broken rod.

I had a elk hair caddis with a zebra midge dropper tied on at the time. I am pretty new to trout fishing and fly tying so any tips would be very helpful, thanks in advance!

About the only time I fish for brookies is when I head up to central Vermont, one or two times a year. SE PA isn't what you would call a hot bed for brook trout. Mostly I take rides on the dirt roads that parallel small creeks or cross them. Probably a lot smaller than the river you fish. Mostly 5 to 10 feet wide where a deep pool is 3 feet. I use 7'6" 5 wgt built on Fenwick glass blank. Lot easier to maneuver through the brush, most casts are under 20 feet. My go to fly is a CDC and Elk(deer hair). I like it better than a elk hair caddis. Easier to tie, only two materials. Floats as good or better than the EHC and can also be fished sub surface as an emerger. I have caught them up there in the lakes that they stock or in beaver ponds using small white woolly buggers and in the past year white mop flies along with the CDC and Elk if they're rising.

Thanks Philly! I was thinking about tying up some white marabou streamers for when I make my way back down the river if a dry/dropper rig is not working.

This is one of my favorites. I tie it with an orange band of thread and some orange in the wing so I can see it well in rough water.

My 2 favorite Brookie flies in Wisconsin Driftless has been BWO Parachute and Partridge and Orange.

But can't dismiss an Elk Hare Caddis or a Soft Hackle Peacock.