Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Emmo

Materials List for a Beginner

I’m new to the Fly Tying Forum and I’m very new to fly tying and fly fishing for that matter. I started tying flies just a few weeks ago. Right now I have a very basic set of tools, but enough to get started. I have a few materials that I picked up at craft stores along with some thread and hooks I got at the fly shop in a Bass Pro store. The flies I’m tying will be for smallmouth bass (and largemouth), fishing mostly small lakes and creeks in southern Indiana and central Kentucky. I’m planning to tie mostly wooly boogers, zonkers and bait fish streamers, perhaps some crawdad patterns. I would like to place an order (perhaps J Stockard) for enough materials to begin working on these patterns. The list I’m thinking of ordering is:

Krystal flash

Select Craft Fur - white, olive and a dark

Hare strips 1/8- black or natural

Buck Tail

Chenille, medium - white and olive

Lead dumbell eyes- medium

Living eyes - 4mm

Cones -medium

Uni thread - black and white 3/0

Lead wire .035

Rubber legs

I already have several colors of acrylic yarn to use for dubbing. Is this a good starter list? Anything I’ve left off that would be a must? I know I need some Hackle, I just don’t know enough to know what too order, so I would appreciate any input you might have. Thanks for your any advice or input you can offer.

I can't really add to your list, since I use things like flipflops to make foam poppers.

But I can say, Welcome to the Site!

Mikechell, if I had an old pair of flipflops, I would have added them to my material box already. It's pretty sparse right now and why I need to place an order. I have crafted all of my tools myself using ideas off the internet so I do understand using what you got. My vice would just make you shake your head, but it works so far. Thanks for the welcome.