Fly Tying
sammothner

hook questions

i have been tying for a few months or so now, and have gotten really good. (selling to friends and local shops) the different hook numbers from different makers confuse me. can someone please tell me what the standard sizes are( standard, 1x long 2x long 3x long dry and nymph) for the different makers (specifically mustad, tiemco, and saber if possable). a chart would be nice. also will 1x long work fine for most drys and nymphs instead of standard length? i wanted to get packs that i could use for both so it would be cheaper.

Thanks, Sam

Check the manufacturer's websites for charts.

There are only rough "standards" between hook makers.

You can tie anything you want on any hook, it's up to you. There are no laws to break.

It's great you've gotten really good after tying for a few months.

Check the manufacturer's websites for charts.

There are only rough "standards" between hook makers.

You can tie anything you want on any hook, it's up to you. There are no laws to break.

It's great you've gotten really good after tying for a few months.

thanks. i try to tie every day. i have gone through hundreds maybe thousands of hooks and probably 5 fly boxes. will dry flies (adams for example) look almost the same when tied on a 1x long hook as opposed to a standard shank? also nymphs (phesant tail for example) look almost the same?