Fly Tying
B.C.TroutHunter

How Long Have You Been Tying?

How Long Have You Been Tying?  

967 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

Been tying for about 10 years but didnt really get "serious" about it till about 2-3 years ago. My goal for my tying has always been to tie flies that catch fish, which i have acived and now i'm just trying to get to the point of tying some "impressive" flies. But even if i never get to that point the first one is the most important to me anyways wink.gif

SD

i've been tying for 13 months,So i picked the 0-1year.

It's been a hard core 13 months of nothing but tying flies on alot of my free time which is ALOT headbang.gif

I started last spring when i got myself a tying kit off ebay. figgured if i was gonna be fly fishing i was going to have to learn to tie as well.

-T

I tied my first fly when I was 14 or 15 out of a small bait hook and some yarn my mom had stuffed into a drawer. Unimpressed with my creation, I forgot about fly tying again until about four years ago when I "got the bug", and like Mozes quickly invested a huge pile of cash fortifying myself with stuff I will probably never get through. Of course, that doesn't stop me from buying more material wink.gif , but I think I spend more wisely now... that is, unless someone advertises a 50% off sale on materials that are already rediculously cheap (awaiting my massive order as we speak).

When I look back at some of the flies I first tied (when I became serious about tying), I just laugh. Man, they were really... bad. I like to think I've come a long way since then... rolleyes.gif

My next door neighbor, Pete Bumpus, came running to my house one early spring day to tell me about "fly tying" which he had seen on television. The show was "The Flying Fisherman with Gaddabout Gaddis". Never mind neither of us had ever even SEEN a fly rod tongue.gif at that time!