Welcome to FlyTyingForum.com

FlyTyingForum.com is the largest fly tying community in the world and we hope you take a moment to register for a free account and join this amazingly friendly and helpful group of anglers. FTF has over 12,000 registered members that have made over 300,000 posts and have uploaded over 6,000 patterns to our exclusive fly pattern database!

If you are an experienced fly tier or just starting out FTF is the perfect place to call home. Click Here To Register for a Free Account

Fly Pattern Database / Browse by Topics / Browse by Material / Fly Tying Bench Database / Fly Fishing & Tying Videos / FTFCurrent(NEW!)
Featured Products: Fly Tying Hooks / Fly Tying Scissors / Waterproof Fly Boxes
Photo

How to use the Scientific Angler's fly line cleaning pad

cleaning pad

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 SpokaneDude

SpokaneDude

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 16 August 2016 - 02:25 PM

Noob here... I just bought the Scientific Anglers Fly Line Dressing package, which contains a "pad" which is sort of smooth on one side and foam on the other.  Which side do I use to clean my line? 

#2 flytire

flytire

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 11,369 posts

Posted 16 August 2016 - 02:54 PM

no instructions with the kit?

watch the movie from sci anglers

The fish care less than we do!

#3 DrVette

DrVette

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 942 posts

Posted 16 August 2016 - 04:52 PM

Wow, buying a pad??? Glad i know better, maybe?? I am a mechanic by hobby (sometimes trade) the index finger of my right hand is so calloused  that i just strip leader and lines through that by pressing with my thumb. Add dressing by smearing on your fingers before you pull the line through. Man am i ever an old hillbilly fart...

#4 SpokaneDude

SpokaneDude

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 224 posts

Posted 16 August 2016 - 05:02 PM