Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
RJD2017

Camera for fly tying?

My two passions are fly tying and building bamboo fly rods. I am a novice with photography, but would like to mainly take pictures to post online. I have done some reading, but most of the articles and posts online were a few years old. Consequently, the recommendations for cameras are outdated. I would prefer to spend less than $200 new, if possible, and open to purchase used/refurbished. It seems a basic point & shoot with macro capabilities would fit my needs. However, what other features (e.g., amount of megapixel) to consider? I would appreciate recommendations pertaining to specific brands/models and features to look for. Thanks.

Ron

For online photos, you only need an inexpensive, point-and-shoot camera. Better cameras are necessary if you're going for framed or magazine (print) quality.

Walmart has several cameras for less than $100 ... and any of them will take good pictures. To post online, you'll likely have to reduce the size of the pictures no matter what megapixel rating you get. So buy the one that has the simplest settings and best online reviews.

If you have a phone that takes pictures use that, and buy some fishing equipment with the money saved.

For your purpose, read reviews and find one that does well in low light conditions.

It makes a difference when you take pics at the bench.

Hi Ron,

It does not have to be an expensive camera and megapixels are not as important if you just want it to post online.A 7 megapixel camera will allow you to print an 8x10 photo in HD but for online your photos will be a lot smaller.

I have an old Canon Powershot SD630 that does a great job.It is 6 megapixels and has a macro mode that will focus as close as 1 inch.It will also allow me to print a good HD photo if i choose.These can be found on Amazon or ebay for $20.00.