Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
longrodder

Macro fly photos

Hello all. I'm new to photography, in a way.... lets say I'm not very good at this point. ..and I'm trying to get some good macro shots of flies with a completely white background. So far i'm not having too much luck with getting the pure white color for the backdrop. Is this a trick in the photo editing software or is my lighting not right? I'm using sort of a homemade "light tent" with tissue paper as a light filter on a white card. I have a basic Nikon setup with a regular 18-55 lens on a macro setting. Nothing fancy but it should work. I'm having an especially hard time with all black flies coming in focus ...

Also I scanned though the topics a ways and didn't see anything right off, but if this has already been discussed in another post, just point and I'll find it eventually

Thanks all

Dave

The white background is a good way to monitor your "white balance." If it doesn't look right then either your light source is not the right temperature (I think daylight is about 4500k) or your camera settings need to be changed. If you are using flood lights, make sure to use daylight bulbs and set the camera to "daylight" lighting.* (You probably also want to turn the flash off.)

If you are having trouble focussing on your fly you probably want to set your camera to "manual focus." The automatic focus on some cameras isn't very accurate at short distances.

It can be a real challenge to get the right exposure for a small black subject against a white background. Your camera's AUTO exposure will probably not give good results. Use the MANUAL setting and take multiple shots with a good range of exposures.

* In some cameras you can save your picture files with the "RAW" setting and you can adjust the colour balance later.