Fly Tying
mikechell

traveling to new destinations

I am preparing to travel for the "Government" training season. My first trip will put me in the Los Angeles area the weekend of April 12th/13th.

Anyone from that area care to offer some fresh water shoreline fishing opportunities? I'll be just south of LAX, but will drive some distance on weekend days.

wow sorry nobody has replied, and I have zero experience there BUT I have read there can be some really interesting saltwater beach fishing for smaller species right in the LA area.... and if that fails, I'm sure the scenery will be outstanding!!

Thank you, sir.

I am looking forward to the trip. My hotel is within walking distance of a park with a pond in it ... so I might be covered for Saturday. I've never had a problem exploring for fishing opportunities, so I'll be fine. I did some fishing on the New England coast ... caught a bunch of small striped bass. Maybe I'll catch some of those Porgy perch or something out there.

Scenery is always outstanding. I love travelling across this Country and the world.

Mike

Check out www.jeffcurrier.com I'm sure he has fished in the area.

Mike

I did a little Googling for "freshwater fishing California" and got some interesting websites, one which lists all the lakes and rivers, and can be sorted by socal or nocal. There's a guide named JD who has a site on which he lists his five best lakes. If you don't get any help from a member (hard to believe there aren't lots of them in socal), you might have to resort to doing your own research.

Good luck!

Thanks, FlaFly.

TakeMeFishing.org has some good info for just about anywhere in the country. It's my first search when traveling.

I also searched the member list for California and found a large number. A few of them are frequent posters to FTF. Maybe if you had entitled your post "traveling to California", some of these guys might have stepped up.