Fly Tying

Henry's Fork?

We have a trip in June around Ashton, Idaho. Need some advice on flies, techniques? Wanting to swing streamers in the current target larger fish. Figure some stone fly nymphs, maybe hoppers... Thanks for any suggestions. Never fished out west...

We have a trip in June around Ashton, Idaho. Need some advice on flies, techniques? Wanting to swing streamers in the current target larger fish. Figure some stone fly nymphs, maybe hoppers... Thanks for any suggestions. Never fished out west...

Check out Rene Harrop patterns

Check out world cast anglers. Also check out www.jeffcurrier.com. Early for hoppers I think of them later in the summer.

I am no expert on Henry's Fork. The one time I fished it, trout were rising all around me, and the air was filled with insects (you had to keep your mouth closed), and I failed to catch anything. I don't even think I got a bite. A couple of the guys with me did manage one or two, but nothing of size. Very humbling. We were fishing just a short distance down stream of Rene Harrop's place.

Anyway, Aston has several fly shops in it (google "fly shop Ashton ID"). I'd suggest you contact one of them and get the hatch chart and fly recommendations for that time of year. It is an expense, but consider hiring a guide for 1/2 a day. He/she will educate you on the correct flies and techniques for the stream. Do that on your first day and you'll catch a lot more fish during your stay.

I predict that the Henrys Fork at the Harriman State Park/Railroad Ranch will be one of the most difficult, if not, the most difficult fishing you have ever experienced. Only Silver Creek, Idaho in my experience is a tougher overall fishery.

http://www.flyfisherman.com/west/idaho/idahos-henrys-fork-rebound/#ixzz27aXdNSor

A downstream parachute cast. is the must learn technique when the fish are feeding on a hatch on the Henry’s Fork.

47459519851_08cc747427_z.jpg