Fly Tying
ckpj99

The Mannon Collection

I recently introduced myself in the "introduce yourself" forum. I thought I'd make my first official post. My father sent me an old fishing kit that someone had given him from an estate sale. My father lives in New Mexico and I spent my summers there when I was a child. It's where I learned to fish.

Anyway, in this box of supplies were some reels, pliers, and a ton of fly fishing stuff. Two full tin boxes of flies and a bunch of tying supplies. I'm a photographer, so I really wanted to document the collection. What makes it special to me is that there was small soap tin with different hooks inside there was a sheet a paper with a couple fly designs jotted on it. The paper is a blank check from The First National Bank of Santa Fe in Los Alamos, New Mexico, and names printed on the check are "Thomas B. or June P. Mannon," hence I'm calling this the Mannon Collection.

I'm not sure how common these collections are, but it seems like if anyone would appreciate it, the folks on this forum would. The flies are mostly medium sized trout flies. Some are really tiny, and a documented the size of those. There are a few pretty big ones as well. I wouldn't say that Mr. Mannon (or his wife as the case may be) were master fly makers, however, I think many of the flies are pretty advanced. It's also interesting to see how these flies have aged.

The other great part is the old materials. Unopened golden pheasant tippets, beaver and mink fur, yarn, feathers and peacock quills, many with prices still attached. $1.20 for a package of peacock. 25 cents for some amazing bright green hackles. And all from a variety of companies. I thought these prices and packaging might help someone here date this collection. I'm assuming these materials are from the 1960s or 70s, but I don't really know.