Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Papasequoia

Perch flies

Hello all. I found this website while doing a google search on several different aspects of a couple of perch type flies I am hoping to tie. I am a relative beginner, just stepping up to some more advanced patterns, and I was hoping for some advice. I just posted an introduction in the new members section in case anyone is interested. Here is the pattern for the baitfish/perch type fly I am hoping to tie:

http://stevenojai.tripod.com/perfperch.htm

My questions on the perfection perch are:

1) Hook size and type: I have looked at several hook comparison charts and can't find an equivalent for the Partridge 15BN. Also, the author only lists one size for this fly (#12) which I found a bit odd. Any thoughts on that? Target species trout, location Owens River, CA.

2) What kind of epoxy would be best to purchase to get that kind of a head? It looks like something thicker or heavier than what one would find with most epoxys?

3) Any hints on what type/size/brand of holographic eyes to purchase? Not sure if anything JStoddard carries would be similar to what is pictured here?

Thanks in advance for any advice. Jon

That Partridge hook looks like a scud hook with a straight eye. Other companies make them, but since it's a streamer type fly, many other styles would also work. Really depends on what size you think you want to use.

Devcon epoxy is pretty much the standard for fly tiers. I prefer the 2 ton 60 or 90 minute stuff, as it gives me added time to work with & coat several flies at a time. You may have to give it 2 coats, since the material might soak it it some.

The eye brand is likely not very important, any should work. The size will depend on the fly size you choose. Likely 3 to 6 mm for small flies.

Thanks for the reply, Tidewaterfly! I refined a couple of my questions based on your reply (below)