Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
tomcraw

head cement vs. uv epoxy

I've been tying for a couple months now, using Craven's book. I'm currently at the Copper John.

I've been using the Loon UV clear fly finish in both thick and thin depending on the fly.

I've been using the thin fly finish for where Craven calls for something to lock in the threads on the underbody or a threaded head. Is that OK or should I use something different?

Is the thick fly finish the proper stuff to finish out the wing case on a fly like the Copper John?

When should I be using the head cement instead? It's also $8 a bottle vs $13.

Thick Loon on wingcase:

29741406521_6900b7fca6.jpg

Thin Loon on the head:

29741407401_1ed84fd675.jpg

the only time i use uv resins is to finish off heads on streamers or the wing case on a copper john or similar pattern. i dont waste $$$ uv resins on underbodies. dollar store crazy glue to hold on materials

head cement works for just about everything else and like you say its cheaper

Additionally, clear nail polish is a great alternative to head cement. Sally Hansen hard as nails has become the sort of standard for allot of tiers. Much cheaper, works great.

I think the last time I bought head cement I vowed that would be literally "the last time". As I recall it was around $4 and I thought how disgusting is that for a little bit of clear lacquer. I still have that bottle, it's like a treasure in it's pretty little bottle but I use Sally Hansen's mostly now. Sallys works just as well and at my local Stop & Shop store it cost $1.95, plus it comes with a brush. I also use a couple of iterations of super glue, also cheap. Well for me it's free actually, my wife supplies it from her fake nail sets, unless you include my wife's latest $40,000 addition on her kitchen, then I guess it's not so cheap.