Fly Tying
bassfly351

balsa wood poppers vs deer hair

I have been tying flies for at least 20 years, and I have used both balsa wood and deer hair bass poppers , I like both , but in my quest for the

perfect bass popper I like the balsa wood popper the best, I think I have caught more fish on it, but I also like the tying of the deer hair, and I have been told that bass hold on to it longer, what do you guys think?post-60338-0-43280000-1482267148_thumb.jpgpost-60338-0-72721600-1482267155_thumb.jpgpost-60338-0-92107700-1482267160_thumb.jpgpost-60338-0-35800700-1482267165_thumb.jpg

I use flip flop foam ... cheaper and easier than any other option for me.

I've never used balsa, so I can't give comparison data.

I've tied a few deer hair, but I never caught anything that made me think, "I gotta tie up more of those!"

I use them both, and they both work. I lean towards deer hair bugs usually, but I like the balsa, too. What most people find surprising is that, at least for me, it takes a lot longer to make a balsa bug than a deer hair bug.

DCA3D7D0-391A-49E9-9560-3F2F9CF9FDAE_zps

P6273221_zps85gmspg5.jpg

P6283242_zpsazq4vnyn.jpg

1B772D2E-A989-409C-A97A-7157A139D0D9_zps

I haven't made balsa poppers I have just done the perfect popper foam ones, I don't really enjoy making them, I much prefer to work with deer hair than having to paint popper bodies, that just feels like work.

I'm the other guy, I've always made poppers from balsa but mostly cork. Never made a true popper from deer hair. I enjoy the entire process of shaping and painting wood poppers. When I paint it's with a brush and drill bits to dab on spots so it's nothing fancy or involved. I've never fished a wood popper and thought I need to make a better popper. I have started making and using more foam gurgler style poppers just because they tie up quick and seem just as effective.