Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
JspFishing

Think this will work?

I will fishing a spring creek next week and it calls out for black stonefly's (nymph) Size 22 and smaller as the best winter pattern. I am new to tying and just want some feedback on this stonefly on a 22 Orvis 1510 3x curved nymph hook. I tried to do Tim Flagler's stone fly pattern due to it being on a fairly small hook. I have seen other patterns that are nice but the hook size used are larger and seems like the complexity of the patterns wouldn't do well on a tiny hook. Looking for any sort of feedback. Thanks.post-62364-0-95504000-1514151689_thumb.jpg

That may very well work, nicely done on a 22 hook if you're a new tyer! I would personally shorten the tails a bit, though.

You're right the complexity of the patterns for larger stonefly imitations doesn't scale down very well to the size you're interested in. You might want to come up with your own pattern with a few things in mind:

1) The smaller, winter, stoneflies are called "needles" for a reason. They're very thin. This probably means you can't add weight; you'll have to use shot to get down.

2) You can probably get away with a hook size larger in a nymph than what you would use for the adult stone of the same species. If the adults are a size 22, you can probably use a size 20 hook, especially if dress it sparsely.

3) Winter stone flies are always dark.

4) Keep it simply. Better to get a slender fly than worry about whether is has a wing case (or even tails). You don't need a lot of detail.

FWIW, I fish small, dark soft hackles (fished as nymphs) when I'm expecting stone flies in the winter. Here's what I typically use. It's on a size 20 hook and accounts for most of my mid-winter trout (the red darken considerable when wet.) Notice the body length and thickness.

lt-spanish-needle2.jpg

That may very well work, nicely done on a 22 hook if you're a new tyer! I would personally shorten the tails a bit, though.