Fly Tying
kyblev

Fly materials kits

I was wondering if there are any materials kits being sold to tie specific types of fly? Before I go into a big materials purchase spree, I was hoping I could just purchase a kit (materials only) to tie different flies i.e. nymphs, dry flies ect. I would like to try something like this first, since I'm new to tying. I attended the free fly tying seminar at our local Orvis shop and really liked. I just don't want to purchase items that I will never use. Anybody know of any sites or shops that sell these types of kits, please let me know.

Thank you

When Gander Mountain existed, they usually had 5 or 6 kits with all the materials needed. I don't remember whose name was on there, though.

Wapsi has some, zebra midge, wooly bugger, Chernobyl ant. About $10 each. Not sure if includes thread.

Long time ago I bought some kits set up for a single pattern, and those kits were more expensive in the end than selecting just the needed materials and buying a standard package; thing is the ones I got were meant to tie a dozen flies and the hooks were of lesser quality, it was a learning opportunity. (well the materials weren't top shelf either, but I didn't know that then)

I'd pick a single pattern and and buy the materials just for it, most of the basic stuff can be used in multiple patterns and styles. Repeat this with a few patterns and you will have full kit before you know it and likely at lower cost, for it costs them money to pick and pack a kit and you pay that extra in the purchase.

If you need hackle I recommend Collins hackle farm you can look up the website, hes old school so you will need to mail him a check but the grab bag is a great deal you can get 4 decent dry fly capes for 60$ or so it's a great way to get started on hackle for a ton of dry floors at a good price. For flash synthetic dubbing and other man made materials fly tyers dungeon is great.