Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
xvigauge

New Guy From Florida But Moving

Right now, at this moment I am located in central Florida in the Lakeland area. For the past couple of months we have been in the process of moving to Townsend, Tennessee in the beautiful Smoky Mountains. I thought Florida was a great place to be retired, but the year round trout fishing in and around Townsend is even better. We are leaving on Sept 13th and heading to our new place in Tennessee.

I am a retired English teacher and taught in the Florida school system for 23 years and retired 6 years ago. I love trout fishing and fly tying, of course as well as vintage bamboo and glass rods and vintage fly reels. I also play and teach the 5-string banjo and have played at many clubs and coffee houses over the years in the Tampa Bay area.

Today is Sunday Sept 10 and we are currently battling hurricane Irma. It will all be over on Tuesday and we will be able to leave for Tennessee early Wednesday. Please say some prayers, lift a glass to us and/or send some good juju our way that we might have safe travels.

Joe

Cheers, Gauge.

Still a few hours of cabin fever, but we have it much easier than many.

Thanks Bimini (for the cheers).

Joe

Welcome from another south Floridian. I love the smokies, and the wife would love to live there. But I don't think I could trade the fishing capital of the world for a trout stream. That's just me though. Take care, and stay safe.

Welcome from another south Floridian. I love the smokies, and the wife would love to live there. But I don't think I could trade the fishing capital of the world for a trout stream. That's just me though. Take care, and stay safe.