Fly Tying
Blackwater Virgil

Newbie to tying salmon flies

I've been tying in one fashion or another for 50+ years, but always pretty simple flies that served the purposes I was after pretty well. Therefore, I've never stretched my talents very far. My son and daughter in law recently bought a house on the river locally, and she asked me if I could tie up some flies for a shadow box for the new home. After giving it some thoujght, I decided to TRY to tie up some salmon flies, since I think they're some of the most beautiful fly patterns, and that this would make them nicer for a shadow box type display.

I've tried a few, and they weren't terrible, but surely need some improvement. Have a book by Poul Jorgensen that I got long ago, and it has a plate with some classic patterns and tying directions. That'll help. My initial efforts were good enough to look fairly good in a shadow box, but no brass ring compared to the "real" thing. Jorgensen's book provided a great tip. To ge the topping to kick up, he just dented the shaft at the right location, and just tied it in. It's the little things like that that can be frustrating.

If anyone can give me some fine pointers that'd likely help me come up with some good ones, I'd really appreciate it. Those of you who tie these type flies sure do inspire me, and make me want to at least TRY to emulate what you do. I marvel at some of the stuff I've seen here.

Thanks to anyone who can help me with this.

Virgil,

If you go on the Classic Salmon board as mentioned, http://www.classicflytying.com/index.php?s=3fbd967298627c26f73fe05f9f3b949e&showforum=5, you'll be talking to some of the best tyers in the world. Look at what they do, ask questions, show what you've done, and they will tell you what you've done right and wrong. You're not going to find more knowledgeable tyers anywhere else.

Ray