Fly Tying
Jfish

Midge pattern (questions)

So I'm really new at tying. Been at it somewhere near a month. I have many materials that I'm aquiring and trying to figure out what I really want to tie.

So far I've been tying size 20 zebra midges. I have some different colored thread and a few different wires. I've been using Umpqua scud hooks (that come in qty 50) mainly. Sometimes I use glass beads I bought on ebay. Sometimes no bead, sometimes a bead and some dubbing behind it. They work well at the trout club under a pmx.

Anyway; my question is about different midge patterns. What material can I use to have a 'tail?' I bought some goose biots, grizzly hackle, lemon duck feathers, and I have some other things from a kit someone gave me.

I would also appreciate some other info on patterns for small midge nymphs besides the zebra/buzzer. Also interested in how to make a shiny bug back (that actually looks like a fly in green) like what's on a copper john from Orvis.

Thanks!

So I'm really new at tying. Been at it somewhere near a month. I have many materials that I'm aquiring and trying to figure out what I really want to tie.

So far I've been tying size 20 zebra midges. I have some different colored thread and a few different wires. I've been using Umpqua scud hooks (that come in qty 50) mainly. Sometimes I use glass beads I bought on ebay. Sometimes no bead, sometimes a bead and some dubbing behind it. They work well at the trout club under a pmx.

Anyway; my question is about different midge patterns. What material can I use to have a 'tail?' I bought some goose biots, grizzly hackle, lemon duck feathers, and I have some other things from a kit someone gave me.

I would also appreciate some other info on patterns for small midge nymphs besides the zebra/buzzer. Also interested in how to make a shiny bug back (that actually looks like a fly in green) like what's on a copper john from Orvis.

Thanks!