Fly Tying
Artin

Bucktail

Hi All,

Been a member for a long time on this forum but I mostly read. There are some really fine tyers here. I enjoy the topics and the contents very much and along the way I have picked up some good pointers from here. I have been tying since I was in my teens and now 40. Feels weird saying that as I don't feel 40. I am still learning.

So my question is, how do I get rid of that smell from bucktail. You know which smell. Haven't really tried any solutions because I cant think of anything that I can put there that will infuse an artificial stenche to the material and call it paranoia but I don't like the idea of having my bucktail smell like fabric softener. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated. My drawers that the bucktail is in have that stench. All of them.

Thanks

Welcome to the active side, Artin.

I've got a couple of bucktails ... and neither of them stink. BUT ... my self-harvested raccoon tails used to.

If you keep the bucktails in a bag, put an inch or two of kitty litter in the bottom. Not the "clumping" kind, the clay "oil dry" kind. It absorbs odors, but more importantly, it absorbs moisture, which allows the odor causing bacteria the grow.

I think it is the dye that stinks, I have naturals that don't stink (have slight odor like everything does) and just bought some dyed tail that smells very loud.

i wash mine with dawn dish soap and warm water

i had natural white bucktail that i assume smell like deer sh1t

All mine smell like moth balls. But everything else in my cabinet does too. If they didn't I'd be writing my own book entitled "Feather Thief"

Whenever I get desiccant packs in mail packages or furniture boxes, I put them in my deer hair drawer.