Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
CasualAngler

First stab at Materials...

Hello!

I'm just starting out, & have been perusing through the Threads, looking at YT bids, & scanning various Online guides. Taking their advice, I gathered a Vice and some basic tools. Using some sewing thread and a bait hook, I've been practicing both wrapping & whip finishing.

Today I decided to take the plunge and pick up some basic Materials, following the suggestion of buying only what's necessary for the flies I'm interested in, which are some very basic, reverse hackle (Kebari) flies, both wet & dry.

Attached is a Photo of the buy... Comments are most appreciated!

Thanks!

Alan :)

post-63593-0-38686200-1536878349_thumb.jpg

This list of beginner tying materials is simply a list based on my 30+ years experience in fly tying. The list provided below is for a new tyer who wants to tie trout flies but can spill over to different genres of fly tying. It is a BASIC list. Could other items have appeared on the list? Of course they could but that's somebody elses list. Other tyers will add or subtract materials to their liking. So be it. Remember its a BASIC list of materials. It contains materials the can tie hundreds or even thousands of fly patterns.

This list is in no order of preference. This list is provided for your convenience and in no way requires you to buy all tying materials all at once or any materials for that matter. It is also a generic list of materials as I really don't have any preferences as to what brand of materials you buy.

Eventually you will need materials if you want to continue tying flies. The list may give you a head start as to what you might want to buy

Again, you do not have to buy the entire list all at once!

Buy what you want when you need it!

1. Hooks (in different styles and sizes)
2. Thread (6/0 to start in black & white)
3. Pheasant Tail (center feathers when possible for the longest fibers)
4. Peacock Herl (eye feathers and strung herl)