Welcome to FlyTyingForum.com

FlyTyingForum.com is the largest fly tying community in the world and we hope you take a moment to register for a free account and join this amazingly friendly and helpful group of anglers. FTF has over 12,000 registered members that have made over 300,000 posts and have uploaded over 6,000 patterns to our exclusive fly pattern database!

If you are an experienced fly tier or just starting out FTF is the perfect place to call home. Click Here To Register for a Free Account

Fly Pattern Database / Browse by Topics / Browse by Material / Fly Tying Bench Database / Fly Fishing & Tying Videos / FTFCurrent(NEW!)
Featured Products: Fly Tying Hooks / Fly Tying Scissors / Waterproof Fly Boxes
Photo

gear management

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 jsigmon

jsigmon

Bait Fisherman

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 24 January 2004 - 11:43 PM

I am a novice fly fisherman with 2 rods/reels. I readalot about different leader/tipets anf fly lines for different conditions. As a former bass fisherman with spinning gear I would have 5-6 rods ready for any condition . When flyfishing, how do you organize gear? Do you have a single rod and a few different reels each with different combinations of line/leader and switch them out as conditions require? Do you go out with single rod and reel for the day and hope for the best. I ask in terms of wade fishing not boat fishing where you can store all the gear in the boat.

Thanks

JS

#2 steeldrifter

steeldrifter

When I grow up, I'm moving to Florida !!!

• Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 16,763 posts

Posted 24 January 2004 - 11:50 PM