Fly Tying
azmarston

"from another hobby" fly tying materials...useful or not?

Hi everyone! I am new to fly tying. (Aside from a brief class that I took about 30 years ago in eighth grade.) I do a lot of other craft/art/miniature work, so I am fairly good with tiny objects and handling different materials such as thread, wire, fur, etc. And as a result of those other hobbies...I have a variety of materials already on hand.

My question is: Is there anything that I need to be aware of when using "non-fly tying" materials?

For example: is the chenille I have from the local craft store any different than the stuff marketed for tying flies? Is the thread any different than sewing/quilting/etc thread? Is there any reason I can't wax the thread to help with fraying like I do when I sew? (light coat of beeswax)

I have lots of metallic and other threads/flosses/yarns that seem like they would be perfect for some of the fly patterns but I don't know if they have to have any certain properties to handle being in the water? And wire...can I use craft wire? I have all sorts of different colors and gauges. (but it's not lead) I also have a ton of different beads...do they have to be reamed out on one side to use for heads, or am I getting too complicated?

Thanks for any tips/suggestions. I am excited to start this new hobby (obsession?).

-Abby : )

Synthetic and animal derived products rather than vegetation derived products is the general rule. Some waters forbid lead. This said, I do think the chenille everyone uses for fly tying has a cotton core, but I could be wrong there.

Welcome!

Welcome,

As for thread make sure if you get sewing thread it would last a lot longer if it’s polyester and any hooks below size 12 are really hard not too crowd the head if using sewing thread.

To start: Welcome to the site, Abby.