Fly Tying
BillNye

Fly swimming upside down?

I'm new to tying and trying to figure out what I can do to make my flies swim right side up with the hook on the bottom. I tied a few Smoke Wagons and a wooly bugger with a marabou wing on top and both of these flies swam upside down through the water. They were tied on a size 8 3x hook with a brass bead head. What is the trick to getting them to swim the right way with the extra marabou tied in?

Can you post some pictures? My first guess is that you've lost the keel effect of the hook bend with a lot of material on the top of the hook (ala unintentional Clouser Minnow.) Perhaps the hook wire is too light for the tie?

edit: keel not reel.

I came across this odd tidbit one restless night looking through some Tiemco and Daiichi hook design literature... (Sad but true)

TMC947BL is supposedly designed in part to help subsurface patterns ride right side up....

"The hook shank on this barbless model is curved slightly to help achieve a more

natural-looking nymph imitation. The curved shank also helps the fly ride in the correct position in the water instead of turning upside-down. The wide size range, sizes #4-#20, allows you to cover all nymph patterns from the largest stoneflies to smallest mayflies. Since this model uses standard wire, it can also be used for tying dry flies or floating terrestrials."

Here's a link to a picture of the hook profile

https://images.app.goo.gl/KBrXU78JGFxjBT279

Seems too gimmicky for comfort, but if Tiemco is right then it might be worth a shot bending a slight downward curve mid-shank on your smaller 2xl and larger 3xl hooks before tying.