Fly Tying
Hayemaker

My first bugger

I am relatively new to the art of fly tying. I tried it many years ago but got discouraged trying to Palmer hackle on flies. Last spring I picked up a new fly rod and just had to start tying again. I do pretty well with hare's ear and pheasant tail nymphs but have been afraid of hackle. What do you think. I know the colors are off and my hackle size is way to big but this is all I had. I just want to be able to hackle without fear.

post-59526-0-90368400-1487305965_thumb.jpg

Welcome to the site, Hayemaker.

I don't know about the proportions, since it appears they are way off, but I can venture that the fish will race each other to get to that fly first.

Looks like you have the basics of palmering hackle just fine.

Palmering hackle is really a matter of quality hackle. Crappy chicken feathers don't palmer as nice regardless of who's palmering them. Care to guess how I know this? That's right I use to use crappy feathers until I learned there's a reason behind the different grades of hackle. Good thing fish don't know the price of hackle though.

Beyond being too large, you might want to wrap the hackle so that it's larger in the front of the fly than the back. You can accomplish this by either tying the feather in at rear of the fly by the tip (before wrapping the body) and wrapping forwards, or by tying it in at the front of the fly by the stem and wrapping rearwards -- secure at the rear with a wire rib (that you tied in previously before wrapping the body._ Then wrap the rib forward through the hackle.

The fly you have there will no doubt catch fish, however.

welcome to the board hayemaker!