Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Scarface Z

Help reconstruct a lucky fly

I bought this Green Drake cripple at least a decade ago from The Feathered Hook in Coburn, PA. And while I've moved to Florida since then, this fly has served me well every year I've made it up north for the Green Drake hatch. Now, it's getting a bit rusty and I want to tie up some more for this spring. I'm not a beginner, really, but I'm rather rusty and was never much good at identifying wet fly feathers. I've almost used up all the feathers that I moved down here with, and I'm not sure what I'd need to order. I appreciate any help and advice. Thanks!

post-2166-0-34421900-1488475515_thumb.jpg

Maybe this will narrow your search. The fly is a Quigley Style Cripple/emerger.

Follow the instructions and use the materials that best match your fly from the choices below.

http://stevenojai.tripod.com/quigcrip.htm

http://oregonflyfishingblog.com/2010/04/13/quigleys-green-drake-emerger-fly-tying-video/

The technique looks right but there are some evident differences...

--- The wing on your patter is reversed with the clipped end over the eye of the hook.

-- The body material on yours looks like a dubbing or yarn.

-- Yours has sparse legs mounted on the side that look to me very much like the soft base fibers from pheasant rump feathers. And that same material looks tobe the tail on yours.

There also looks to be a thorax and wing case on yours but it is hard to see.

When you get the pattern right please share it with us. Looks like a killer.

Rocco

The technique looks right but there are some evident differences...

--- The wing on your patter is reversed with the clipped end over the eye of the hook.

-- The body material on yours looks like a dubbing or yarn.

-- Yours has sparse legs mounted on the side that look to me very much like the soft base fibers from pheasant rump feathers. And that same material looks tobe the tail on yours.