Fly Tying
Kudu

Marine Hacks

What are some good ideas to keep you on the water when your boat fails?

I keep small jumper cables to jump off other batteries or boats. I keep a spare prop and shear pin for my trolling motor. I have bypassed the solenoid on my wife's boat which has an inboard with a craftsman wrench. I keep matches, striker, whistle, space blanket in a dry sack for emergencies.

I am not good with motors and have been a lifelong boater. I know small things can keep you on the water and save the day. This is important when your off days are not often.

I appreciate all tips!

80% or more of all boat engine problems can be traced to bad fuel. Leaving E-10 fuel in the gas tank for weeks or months between trips is the worst thing for it. For today's fuel injected engines, fuel can cause problems in as little as 3 weeks. Carburetor fed engines can go for 4 or weeks.

Using a good stabilizer (I recommend "Stabil" brand) can extend the usable life of gasoline to 2 to 3 months. It'll still go bad, just takes a little longer.

Even if you drain the fuel after every use, you should still run stabilizer, since not ALL of the fuel in the system is ever drained out.

Change plugs more frequently. Contrary to popular belief, spark plugs DON'T last forever. On cool running outboards, they tend to foul more, and fouling makes the ignition system work harder to jump the gap. Ignition system failures are often a result of the overheating that accompanies the wearing/fouling of plugs.

99% of "on-the-water" boat failures are due to poor maintenance and storage procedures. Too many people just use their boats, without any thought of upkeep when it's not in use.

Thanks Mike. I'll put stabil in my gas. To get your input I run an 18ft crest liner metal center console with a 110 merc that is jetted so I only have in effect about 80hp. Any other recommendations? I'll change spark plugs, lol!

"Any other recommendations?"