Fly Tying
epzamora

I wish there was a chart somewhere about densities of material

I'm relatively new to fly tying. i've been going hog-wild lately in buying material it seems but i'll never have everything. at least let's hope not! One dollar here, $2.50 there, what's another $1.75 to an order, grab that stuff for $2.50 on the rack... it adds up! but the array of material and its uses, both traditional and used as substitutes is dizzying.

for instance, material for tails on dry flies.... some recipes call for material i do not have. but i have stuff that resembles it. but what floats, what sinks? it's an education. i think it would be great for beginners to reference a chart of material in order of bouyancy with zero as the demarcation line. antron on one side (sinking?), zelon on the other (floating). badger fibers listed in relation to microfibbets and pheasant tail fibers. i know the details could be work-intensive. elk hair comes in so many varieties (plus there would be elk vs carabou vs moose hair).

does such a list combining a multitude of material exist anywhere online? just wondering...

-eric

fresno, ca.

Best think of this as a 'function machine', which determines

(after inputting massive funds) M/V aka, density.

Given: f(x) = y

Where:

f = fly tyer

x = $2

y = y do I have so much crap?

☺☺☺☺☺☺

Seriously, ya gotta go out and spend the time & $$ and learn away.

No quick way that I know of.

Small caveat ~ some synthetic materials are labeled 'floating' but it pays to test them.

There is more than density to consider when constructing a dry fly. For instance pheasant tail fibers are not very dense but make lousy dry fly tails. Other materials may be more dense but are less absorbant and stiffer and maker better dry fly tails.

... and then there's the issue of surface resistance to the water surface, to the mass of the material used - and floatent(or is it floatant?? the float/silicone dry fly 'stuff' applied to dry flies)... etc...