Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
dsaavedra

Irresistible

i really wanna tie these flies. the main reason being their bouyancy. im tired of baby gills nipin at my dryflies, and getting them soggy before the big guys get to em. they can nip all they want with this fly, cuz deer hair aint goin down. but, i find it extremely difficult to tie.

1.] Spinning hair on that small of a hook is IMPOSSIBLE for me.

2.] Trimming the hair that short is very difficult.

3.] Because of the thread wraps from binding down the tail, my hair wont spin, i need bare hook to get hair to spin.

4.] trying to spin hair with such delicate thread is hard.

Anyone have any solutions to my 4 problems?

thanks guys.

I'm no expert :shocking: but try these.

1) Try stacking instead of spinning your deer hair. Tie a clump on top of the hook,(don't let it spin) then tie a clump on the bottom of the hook using the same tie in spot.

2)Use a new double edge razor blade (carefully, they're sharp) along with your scissors.

3)See #1

4)Try useing 6/0 thread (140 denier) I use it and it works for me, plus doesn't bulk everything up as bad.

I hope this helps you out, and if all else fails just :wallbash: or :drunk:. Sometimes I do both.

ok that did help alot. i think i will go try stackign. i think it was the spinning that was giving me so much trouble, cuz it requires alot of thread tension. so hopefully no :wallbash: required, and im a lil too young for :drunk:

i dont usually trim with a razorblade, i normally use an electric beard trimmer. ill try a new onesided one. i dont have any two sideds.

You could also try a thread like unicord or simmilar that is real strong. If you add some super glue or crazy glue to the thread wraps over the tail and let it dry. The hair will spinn like crazy.

I have to tie Rat Faced McDougals from time to time and alot of times I do the spinning not the thread.