Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
dflanagan

Krosch hackle?

While looking around for some different capes and saddles I came across Krosch hackle farm. Anyone have experience with their feathers? I did a search here but only found one mention of the name and no real description.

I did look at their site. Kinda looking for reviews. It looks like decent hackle from pictures but I'm still learning. I don't know how it is to tie with. I don't imagine it's Whiting quality but what are the main differences? Have you tried it? Can you compare the two?

Your relative success/frustration will depend partly upon what styles of flies you are looking to tie. I have gone almost exclusively to parachute patterns for dry flies - I can get away with the old indian capes for this application. The capes you mention here might be ok for less demanding applications - the prices seem good but a limited selection of colors. You might want to look into Collins hackle farm in NY state - I have many of Charlie's capes and have never been dissappointed.

Never tried it but I don't like the photos on the website. The necks look kinda sparse to me. The price is pretty good, but I've always believed in getting really good hackle because I think it's easier to tie with good hackle. A good Whiting neck can last you YEARS of tying. A pro can use cheap hackle, but I'm not a pro.

I have a few of them, sometimes you can get them on eBay for $15-25 each. They aren't dry fly capes, (at least the ones I have) but they will work great for flies you want longer fibers, and you get tons of feathers! Decent bugger feathers.

Thanks for the responses, everyone. Really helpful. McFly and Pete, just what I was looking for. I'm looking mostly for dry fly material but if you can't recommend it for that, I'll go with Collins. Been wanting to order from him for a while, anyway.

Thanks, all.