Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
Li'lDave

On tube flies?

HI all.

Beginners question for tying tubes.

I'm pretty sure I can source the appropriate materials....

Just wondering if there are any special skills or techniques that we need to develop to be successful?

Am looking at tying up some streamers on tubes for a mate who will be fishing BC in the Fall.

Many thanks.

I'm no expert on tubes but I do tye a few. A lot of then are tied in the round. If you need one to track top up you may have e to add some weight to the bottom.

Kevin

I use mostly the HMH system with connector link at the back that kind of holds your hook orientation fairly well. So hook point down I've had no issue with my Gray Ghosts tracking upright. At least not with plastic tubes, I haven't fished my metal tubes yet but that season is coming.. I'll edit this: that plastic tubes tend to want to float , so use a cone or bead up front. This is why I'm trying metal tubes as well, since I don't always want a bead or cone up front.

You need a little flame source, I use a charcoal grill lighter. But you can watch any number of different you tube videos as to why that is the case. It boils down to not having your thread slip off the head end or in the case of an inner tube liner for metal tubes, that the liner doesn't slip out of the metal tube..

Tube streamers fish very well incidentally, especially for toothy fish like some salmon, the fly slips up the leader so the fish only has the hook in it's mouth. This gives two fold PLUS PLUS scores because the fish is now on a shorter shanked hook and holds better, plus the fly isn't torn up so quickly. At least that is my experience with using a connector tube at the back.. They aren't quite as pretty as a classic tie but they work and look good enough. You will go through a bit more body thread and materials because of the added diameter.