Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
McFlyLures

Anvil Atlas Full Rotary Fly Tying Vise Review

Im no expert and this is my first full rotary vise. I have played with a few other than this one, and I personally found this one to be the best for what I needed. I am in no way coming down on other vises, except for stating my opinion. I could be wrong on some things with this review, but again I'm not an expert and only stating what I see, and my opinion as the owner of this vise. Now that I am done with that... Take a look at the review below... Click the link to see the full review with pictures on my site.

If you are like me, you dont have the money to buy one of each vise on the market and test them out for the best one. With some manufacuturors charging upwards of $500+ for their flagship vise, its hard to even aford one vise, let alone multiple. I recently was on the lookout for a new vise, one with a full rotary feature, and also for a good price.... Read more - Anvil Atlas Fly Tying Vise Review

post-58316-0-04287000-1470344108_thumb.jpg

Anvil Atlas Fly Tying Vise Review

Good review, great photos too. However I think that you are missing something in setting up the drag if the head is not rotating smoothly and the out of balance issue continues. It is true that it is not balanced and I have an issue with that in all these affordable true rotary vises, in that that stops high speed spinning with the vise. But you should be able to set the drag so the jaws don't flop down to bottom.

Great write-up. I am not the biggest fan of this vice but your points of affordability and that it fits your style says a lot about it.

On the balance issues... Have you tried putting adhesive wheel weights in the light side? Not sure exactly where you would mount but with a little trial and error maybe. The things are real cheep and the tire store might give them to you for free if you ask if they sell them...they get annoyed messing with something that small.