Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
jakeryan

Is there really a wrong way to tie a fly?

I am pretty new at this so excuse my ignorance,but there are literally thousands upon thousands of different flies tied by people that all look different.Size,shape,color,materials,etc. Sure the fly patterns that have been around for decades have a certain way they need/should look,but it seems like I see tons of flies that guys come up with that are pretty much something they came up with on their own one day. I'm not saying this is a bad thing by any means, and if it catches fish and/or looks good in a frame then so be it. I was just wondering if I was way off base im my observations. And by the way I have discovered that this fly tying is a whole lot of fun!!!

There are incorrect techniques. Methods that won't hold the material securely while the fly is being used.

I've been told there are times when those intellectual trout will not take any fly that hasn't been stamped by the USDA.

Other than that, no, I don't think there's a "wrong" way to tie a fly.

I've never owned a fly tying book. (got a couple in a grab bag a while back, sold them) I've tried to copy an online pattern a couple of times.

Most of the flies I tie and use, however, are ones I came up with before I even knew there were fly patterns online.

I think there is a wrong way to tie a fly. Patterns evolved because they work on trout by imitating food. Colors are important. Less important with warm water fish, like bream and bass. Proportions make the fly float, if that's what you're tying, dries.

You can tie a less-than-perfect fly or even a kinda ratty fly that will catch fish. But I don't see a reason to not stick to a pattern. Get yourself a pattern book, preferably one that has techniques. It's not an any old thing will do discipline.

Jakeryan: