Fly Tying
870ExpressMag

hook substituting and hook eye question

I'm a newbie, just getting into the big world of fly tying. I have tied a handful so far and love it so far. I have found a few more patterns i would like to try, so i scoured youtube and watched different peoples versions of the flies i want to tie. I then decide which one seems easiest for my skills, and what i will need for supplies. I am about to put an order in to J Stockard, but i am curious on something. I have a heck of a time matching up hook types. Seems like everyone calls for something else, and I am constantly trying to cross reference hooks to try and get a comparable, since it seems like every online order site carries all but one or two of what I am looking for. So i am curious on how to go about substituting hooks, and whats the benefit/purpose of a turned down eye vs a straight eye?

Hook eye bend to me is a non issue other than aesthetics . There is scientific reasoning behind each design but I've found that to be basically a non issue to my fishing. Hook bend and point length is another matter. I have some size 14 hooks where the point goes back about half the length of the shank and I don't like how they set into a fish at all, though once hooked you got em.. You probably should do yourself a favor and just kind of follow the hook profile rather than direct cross. Like Standard or 1x, 2x long for instance and round bend, straight shank or curved etc. Just observe those stats about the hook you are trying to match. There are cross charts out there though, I've attached some in the forums along the way actually. I don't recall where I got them from, maybe Hook and Hackle was one source.. For Catskill ties I found another chart from a guide service and tackle store out in NY State someplace.

Well like this: http://www.hookandhackleclub.org/doc/Mustad_Fly_Hook_Comparison_Chart.pdf