Fly Tying
jakeryan

How long to get "proficient" at tying?

I know there will always be room for improvement, but you guys that have been tying for some time, how long do you think it took you to get to the point where you where "good"?. I guess a better way to put it would be how long was it before you were spending more time tying decent flies that you were screwing things up?

As some of you know I am really new to this and do not expect overnight success. I try to tie several nights a week and lets just say they might catch fish but it looks like those pictures your kid brought home from kindegarten!

I'm sure there is no magic number of days as people vary on how they learn things,but was/is there a rough time period where it seemed like everything just started to come together?

Its been fun trying to figure this stuff out so far.A little aggravating a lot of times,but for the most part its been enjoyable.

Thanks!!!

I can only answer from my own perspective and experience.

I started, and continue, to tie flies for my fishing. They aren't works of art.

I don't tie every different kind of fly I see. I don't tie super complicated, beautiful flies that I'd then be afraid to lose to a fish.

I follow a few basic techniques. I can start the thread, get material to stay where I want it, and whip finish it all off. I can tie a fly that will catch dozens of fish without falling apart.

And I was doing all that within a month or two of tying my first fly.

I still couldn't tie a classic pattern, but I never even tried to.

Get the basic techniques down ... and you should be able to do that within a few months. After that, it's all about honing your skills, following good step-by-step instructions and learning just how the materials lay on the hook.

Good luck ... and TAKE YOUR TIME. Getting in a hurry is the quickest way to mess everything up.

well ive been at it for over 35 years and i'm still learning how to tie flies or learning a "new to me" technique