Fly Tying
Flecktarnfisher

Good Morning from the UK

Hi everyone,

I'm a student from darn sarf of the UK and have been fly fishing a year and a bit now. I've only been fly-tying since Christmas for my DofE award and its now sort of become a hobby.....ooops! I've learnt all of my skills fishing the slow moving chalkstreams (not the expensive bits, the cheap bits and free bits in city centres) and reading very VERY old books as they're cheaper to source and way more interesting so if any of my skills seem a bit odd, we will put it down to that! I also keep a blog which I've started about fishing on a student budget in the UK. So yeah...Hello!

Lloyd

Welcome to the site,buddy!Some of the most famous patterns in the world came from that part of the UK.I would track down some books on Blacker and Trahern and Hardy.

Let us see some of your work soon!All the best-Steve

Saw your "Clouser" thread before this one. (I think the introduction forum should be at the top of the list!)

Welcomed you on that thread, so this is redundant ... but ...

Welcome to the site, Lloyd.

I'm like Mike. I asked you about yourself on the other thread. I find it interesting that you're fly fishing for coarse fish. Most guys here from the UK seem to be after pike and salmon. I remember those comic books about coarse fishing that were turned into TV episodes... they fished with stuff like sausages on the line above the hook, and used spinning gear. I'd like to see more about how you coarse fish with a fly.

Also, where in the ***** is darn sarf? is it like down souf here in our soufeast states?

Flafly do you mean Mr Crabtree Goes Fishing?

crabtree.jpg