Fly Tying
SoftailClassic04

Does anyone have a granite or stone topped fly tying desk?

Hello,

I was curious if anyone has made themselves a fly tying desk making the table top out of granite, marble or stone. I have found a few Web sites that sell vise pedestal bases made of granite, but I was thinking of going big and having the entire top out of granite.

I already have several pieces all close to 4 ft long by approx 2 ft wide that I can use. I just wonder if this has already been done and if it is worth it.

SOFTAILCLASSIC04

AKA-HEAVY D

The only problem I see is the coloration. If you got highly granulated Marble, with different colors, veins and spots, you might be setting yourself up to lose some "vision".

I mean, tying is better when your background is uncluttered, monotone even. And if you drop a small hook, you might spend a lot of time trying to find it.

I agree with Mike 110%. As a beginner I've already found that a background card helps (gray or white) to keep behind the vise. I'm planning on building something like a tying station that can be picked up and moved when not in use. It'll hold tools and some thread spools I use often. The base will be a light laminate maybe, or a light natural wood color so nothing gets lost on the surface. I've been tying at my office desk that has a dark wood grain Formica and advise against dark and esp. brown (hooks and some feathers blend right in). Whatever you decide, make sure there's plenty of good light at your bench.

regardless of the surface, somebody will always have a problem with what YOU choose to use.

since you already have pieces ready to go then give it a try and tie some flies on whatever surfaces you have

only YOU should decide