Fly Tying
Sign in to follow this  
CaddisCowboy

Deer hair bullet-head

Hi,

This is my first post on this forum, and admittedly, it's a bit embarrassing. I have been tying for 2 years now, and for the most part, I believe I have become a fairly competent tyer (my flies catch fish). However, not until recently have I attemted bullet-style deer hair heads on large terrestrial patterns. Currently, I have been taking a crack at John Barr's/Charlie Craven's extremely bouyant and somewhat complicated BC Hopper. Following Craven's online tutorial I can whip up a pretty decent looking bug.......that is........... until I reach the deer hair bullet-head. I have made several attempts to perfect Craven's "Bic pen" method to compress the hair, but it still never turns out. The most frustrating problems I have encountered are:

1. When I threadwrap the head/collar, the thread ends up sliding down the bullet-head towards the eye of the hook, leaving a pretty small/pitiful/mishapen looking head.

2. When I do make a successful threadwrap at the collar, some shorter hairs flare out near the eye of the hook.

3. The juncture point of the collar and the foam body is uneven.

Any advice you all are willing to offer is much appreciated. I'm sick of wasting materials on "test" flies. Not to mention, a lot of hair-pulling and head-slapping at the vice.

~Evan

Evan,