Fly Tying
Jokey

I have a confession to make....

.....I tie backwards. Yep.....I wrap thread toward myself when I am tying. I taught myself how to tie when I was 11 and the cheap instruction book I was using had hand drawn illustrations that didn't help much and for some reason I started off wrapping towards myself and have continued on ever since. It's a running joke between my fly tying buddies and a couple of co-workers (I work for a fly tying manufacturer in Canada). I have seen a few folks over the years who tie the "wrong way" like myself but not too many. I have trained myself to tie the conventional way but unless I consciously start off tying that way I automatically revert back to the way I have been doing it for 27 years.

One advantage I have found to tying this way is that I find I great visibility is seeing the slight spin some materials get when you tie them in. By wrapping towards myself I always see if I have anchored something not quite to center.

Is there anyone here who ties that way? I'd like to think that I am not alone.

Cheers!

J

There was a similar post a while back, not about tying backwards per se, but tying lefthanded (which, from the point of view of the thread is the same thing). The issue was whether twisted threads came untwisted, or untwisted threads became twisted. I pointed out that it's similar to line coming off the end of a spinning reel... every turn about the hook results in adding a twist of 360 degrees to the thread. If you're one of those guys that adds about 30 turns just to tie off the body, you could possibly see some issues with getting twisted.

If so, one solution is to periodically let your bobbin hang free and spin itself to unwind the thread.

Have you experienced anything like this in your tying?

By the way, if you're really Jokey, you're gonna fit in real well here.... we've got quite a few humorous characters :-)

no need to confess anything

the only person affected is you, not the rest of us