Fly Tying
SpokaneDude

I could really use some help tying this Tenkara fly

I found this image of a Tenkara fly that I want to tie (this is my first attempt at tying a fly from a picture); I have only been tying for a short while now, and am not sure how to go about tying this particular fly... here's the image (click it to enlarge the view):

post-56493-0-22500100-1488150942_thumb.png

Can someone give me some suggestions for the materials for the body and hackle? My thinking is:

• the yellow body is possibly Cream Life Flex
  • and the hackle is possibly Grizzly "High and Dry" Hackle or something stiffer

and probably a Daiichi 1120 or 1130 size #14 hook. I haven't figured out how to get the hackle wrapped... is it just over the Life Flex or in between turns?

Also, I can't decide if this is a wet or dry fly... any ideas on that?

Usually when a fly is hackled ... with what appears to be a dry fly sort of hackle... that with stiff barbles - is intended to float or be fished on the surface. From your picture it looks like that is the intent.

The picture isn't really very large but form what I saw real briefly, the hackle might be wound along the same lines as the body material.

What is important (provided you are not trying to tie a museum piece or something that portrays an exact fly from an orioginal recipe) is that you do not get too hung up on the exact materials - if you have something similar, use it.

Just my opin

BCT

In general, tenkara flies are very simple and use very simple materials. The focus is presentation.

Bodies are often made from the working thread, and this appears to be the case here.

I'd start my thread a short distance behind the eye and wrap to the rear in tight turns where I'd tie in my hackle. Then I'd wrap another layer of thread up the shank, palmer the hackle forward, then tie off and complete the head.