Fly Tying
kingfish22

tiny fly questions

Hi, I'm new to fly tying and I've seen some very small hook for flys like size 28-30s how do you keep track of those flys when you thought them out and how often do you use flys that small?

When I find it necessary to fish so small I always fish them with a bigger dry fly, so the big fly lets me know where the small fly is. When I tie mine I will pair them up with a larger fly at the bench, tying them onto mono, and the other end to the bend of the larger fly. Carp anglers trappers here have various "Rig Boards" for carrying rigs ready made. These are ideal for carrying two ready rigged flies. Though I just use a piece of board with a couple of strips of foam on it, in a box.

Cheers,

C.

On very flat water with no surface foam and proper lighting conditions, it is surprising how well some of those small offerings can be seen at medium distance. However as Crackaig said, when the conditions are difficult I tie the small offering off the bend of a larger dry fly with a fairly short piece of tippet no longer than 12". If I see any surface disturbance of a fish rise near the larger fly, I will set.

Another reason to get used to using a form of dropper.

Smallest I've tied is a #24 for a stream in ID -- none of my local waters require a fly that small. Smallest flies I carry are #20, and if I have to fish smaller than that, I would prefer to find different waters to fish...

A 24 or 26 is not uncommon for a spent trico or midge dun. I usually tie those on an emerger style short shank hook (TMC 2488 for example) in 22 & 24. I get the short body length and wide gape that makes for better hook-ups. If I can't see that fly, I will use a 14 or 16 G-Gnat as my indicator fly and trail the trico. I used this two weeks ago to catch a nice bunch of wild browns.