Fly Tying

Greetings!

I'm relatively new to tying salmon flies, got started about a year ago after reading The Feather Thief. I'd grown up tying trout flies and thought salmon flies would be a fun challenge. "C'mon, can't be that hard, right??" Oh how wrong I was. 

I'd been reading this site and found that people were kind enough to offer critiques when asked. I would appreciate any feedback on my work I attached. It's called The Lizzy, which was in Kelson's The Salmon Fly. Recipe as follows: 

Tag: Silver twist
Tail: A topping
Body: Green, yellow, violet, and crimson seal
Ribs: Silver tinsel (oval)
Hackle: Blue from yellow fur
Wings: Tippet strands; gallina, swan dyed light blue, yellow and crimson, mallard, and a topping

I forgot the horns and didn't realize it until too late. Still kicking myself for that. Maybe I should staple the macaw feathers to my forehead so I don't forget next time! 

Thanks in advance for critiques, feedback, and suggestions! 

20220423_140718.jpg

I'm no expert, but that fly looks great. 

The only critique I have is you didn't tie one for me.  

And I don't understand some of the materials you have listed, like for the tail and the hackle

I've taken the time to look at this fly a few times in order to fully offer my thoughts/critique.

You obviously have the needed skills to tie classic salmon flies, but there are just a couple of things that should be refined.

First...that is one ugly hook.😁 Your abilities demand that you tie on a good salmon hook, preferably a blind eye with a twisted gut eye. Not absolutely necessary but that does add to the true old time classic fly finish and appearance.

Second...the shape of the wing is not what you see in traditional classic salmon flies. Take the time to Google a specific pattern and use those images as a model for future tying. There are also a number of good pictures right here on this site that will serve as a showcase for your future work.